Lebanon Icon


Middle East Beirut is the Capital City of Lebanon. Other major cities are Tripoli (Tarablous), Sidon (Saida), Tyre (Sour) and Zahle.

Lebanon is a small and beautiful country on the eastern shore of the Mediterranean Sea. It is about 225 km (150 miles) in length (its coastline) and is, on average, some 45 km (30 miles) in width. The total area of the country is 10452 square kilometers or about 4500 square miles. It is bordered on the north and east by Syria and on the south by Israel.

Lebanon has a narrow coastal plane and two parallel north/south mountains (the mountains of Lebanon and anti-Lebanon) separated by the fertile Bekaa valley with its main rivers of Litani and the Orantes (al-Assi). The two highest peaks are Kournet Assaouda in the north of Mount Lebanon (altitude 3,083 meters or 10, 112 feet) and Jabal al-Sheikh (altitude 2814 metres or 9,230 feet) in the South of Mount anti-Lebanon.

The country is set geographically between three continents, Europe, Africa and Asia, with all of its length on the coast, Lebanon is a true Mediterranean country.

The coastline from Tripoli in the north to Beirut is rocky and steep. The area between Beirut and Tyre in the south is covered with sandy stretches. The Bekaa plain, a plateau 110 kms. long and 25 kms. wide, lies between the Anti-Lebanon range and the coastal range. The Anti-Lebanon range stretches into Syria.

The Dog River, which supplies fresh water to Beirut, reaches to a point called Jeita where caves and grottos exist with vast chambers and stalactites as well as various ice formations.